Half-Cooked Chickens, A Joint Surprise Party and The Confidence Boost. Happy Holidays!!!

I’m back and guess what? You know that shift you’re feeling now where your life suddenly seems so profound, yep that’s the one, also it probably didn’t happen once the clock struck 12 this year. While we would like to believe that this year is a chance to live vicariously and take more chances because THE WORLD. IS ENDING!!! Probably not gonna happen and you know you can’t change just cause you decided to, and yes change is inevitable but like fate it can’t be rushed and just cause a few people predicted that the world was gonna end and the Mayans ran out of stone well doesn’t mean you have to change who you are. If you spend the next year plotting and planning ways to be bigger, better, brighter, you’ll end up disappointed ;at the end the day just live, laugh, love and have fun. If we end up going in the end, go happy and proud and on that note lets review the last entertaining bits of 2011 and the beginning of 2012.
This year Christmas was different, to say the least. This year my mother, the presenter and cook of our legendary Christmas dinners, was working night shifts at the hospital. This meant that she would be sleeping until dinner time and that me and my sister would have to single-handedly cook Christmas dinner. Considering our mild and mediocre cooking conquests in comparison to Christmas Dinner. This was the Big Leagues and we were being thrown into the deep end with nothing but a pair of  toddler sized deflated floaties and a rubber duckie. We approached this task openely. “I came. I saw. I conquered.” Almost. Our menu was as follows:

Appetizers                                                                                                                                                       .Cocktail sausages                                                                                                                                 .Bruschetta                                                                                                                                                                      .Garlic Bread                                                                                                                                                     

Main Menu                                                                                                                                         .Carbonara                                                                                                                                                                         .Fried Rice                                                                                                                                             .Potato Salad                                                                                                                                                               .Mashed Potatoes                                                                                                                                                                                                    .Roast Chicken                                                                                                                                                    .Roast Ham                                                                                                                                                          .Shrimp Scampi that ended up as Shrimp Mascarpone

Desserts                                                                                                                                                                     .Large Vanilla Cheese Cake                                                                                                                           .Homemade Ice cream                                                                                                                                                           .Jelly

Considering the Great Christmas Dinner of 2006 where the table was so stocked with food on display you could not put even baby size plates of served food on the table, this was a disappointing and unsatisfying task but everything went well,almost everything. The ham had a slight pink tinge in the middle and the flesh between the ribs of the Chicken was pink and had a tiny bit of blood. No one got food  poisoning and there were no upchucks just some extremely satisfied and grateful parents and a movie in the living room.

Now onto the Joint Surprise Party. Two Close friends of mine both turned 19 and a joint surprise party was held for them last Saturday. I was overjoyed and could not wait for this event. Not only was I permitted to go but I was guaranteed a fun night considering the people attending and the two surprise guests and that’s what it was a good night, a great night. Nothing like the Halloween disaster of 2011 just fun, friends and food. Considering “Butt-crack Gate” I opted for a dress. With tights.  It was so much fun. My makeup was on point and my out fit was clean and freshly spritzed with a gorgeous perfume. There were no boys to flirt with and no one special to see me but I danced the night away and had a blast even though we had to leave early. I reconnected with a friend who had gone to university abroad on a scholarship and I had the time of my life.

Now for the confidence boost. I recently got my hair done. Extensions to be percise and I am soaring on a confidence high right now. Not only did girls notice me but boys did too. And before anyone even saw me,due to an unfortunate fraping on Facebook I got to talking to a popular jock who later on went to describe me as “De hole pakage, with a gr8 rack and perfect ass” excuse the illiteracy, but me, the quiet girl in school described as the whole package!!! He also happened to divulge that one of the cutest guys in school, if you can excuse his PMS like mood swings, as saying ” Nikki’s boobs are massive, I would….”   Oh Glory I am considered “doable.” Even though I would have nothing to do with these immature, uncharismatic buffoons, there’s nothing better than a free compliment right?

Oh Happy Holidays indeed!!!

Its Been Me,                                                                                                                                          Nikki Woodlands.

XOXO

P.S. To my subscribers, you are the light at the end of my tunnel. Thank you soo much Flora-Maria ,Tom and More fucking opinions. 🙂

About nikkiwoodlands

Avid blog, TV, movie, book, music fan. Eccentric, smart, creative, ultimately dangerous.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Half-Cooked Chickens, A Joint Surprise Party and The Confidence Boost. Happy Holidays!!!

  1. Welcome back! Congrats on a very impressive Christmas dinner- I’ve never tackled such a big meal yet- totally scared to try- and congrats on the compliments! Keep writing

    • Thank you so much I really appreciate it and thank you for following my blog it means so much for me that even though you write your amazing blog, you can still follow mine 🙂 Also thank you for the encouragement.

      • Hey you’re totally welcome, and thanks… it means a lot to me too when someone follows mine! I’ve just had mine for a bit longer so I’ve collected a few followers by now but it’s just as big a compliment as ever. 🙂

      • You’re welcome 🙂 Thank you so for the acknowledgement. Also can I ask how you dealt with Irish teenage boys?

  2. Ugh… with great difficulty! I was really needy and desperate and awkward. I did a lot of stupid things to make boys like me but until I was around 17 or 18 they just didn’t, apart from the really gross ones. It was not a fun time for me. I guess if I had just acted more unavailable and uninterested, played hard to get, it would have been better. Anyway who knows, I wouldn’t want to have to go back in time and go through it all again. I haven’t exactly got it figured out now, but when I like someone I try to be myself but as positive and upbeat as I can be and smile and laugh a lot. That’s basically it. Then I just drink too much and it all goes downhill…

    • In my case I guess I’m terrified of dating because I know I’m probably gonna be hard to date. I know what I want and its not an awkward, gawky, constantly horny, teenage boy. I want success. I want smarts. I want spontaneity. But I DON’T want all this “Will you meet me?” business. Where has chivalry gone? I know someone who started dating her long time boy friend when he asked her on a date!! SO these boys exist but it seems none of them are interested in me. Also I probably wouldn’t be interested in them. I honestly don’t get it. My libido is supposed to be at an all time high and as my sister tries to decide whether kissing her ex boyfriend is OK because there are no eligible contenders I wonder about my homework or food. At the age of 15 I have only seen one boy who really gave me butterflies. I felt sick just seeing him and I couldn’t move. I wanted to throw off my promise ring and throw myself at him and in the end I did nothing I haven’t seen him since. Big disappointment right. SIGH I might die as sad old spinster.

  3. Don’t worry about it… When I was your age I didn’t exactly meet very man prince charmings either… they were all a bunch of gobshites really. I just had really low self esteem and didn’t so much think about who i liked, instead I just settled for whoever liked me and it was totally unromantic, all that “will you meet my friend” crap and awkward and just feeling even lonelier afterwards. A lot of regrets thanks to my desperation to keep up with everyone else. And libido is not something that’s even across the board… I think with women it’s usually later, I read somewhere that it peaks in our 30s! So don’t compare yourself to the horny boys your age. Anyway you won’t be dying a spinster I’m sure. Just don’t try to be like anyone else, because I realised later that a lot of the people I thought were more mature or knew more about things, well they were just faking it.

    • Thanks so much for your comments its been a real learning experience for me. I think you should do an agony aunt section on your blog i know so many people would appreciate it. It so great to hear that you felt pressure to keep up like i do now, i felt i could really relate about the self esteem and all. Also i can’t believe we peak in our thirties?! does that mean no burning desire and deep satisfaction with sex?! Thats not fair at all.

  4. Not at all, I think it means more like, you’re more comfortable with yourself and know what you like… I always had fun and enjoyed it anyway but lately it has been a lot better. And I think mostly that is down to how I feel about myself and not getting all paranoid or awkward. I don’t know about an agony aunt thing, I make a lot of bad decisions… you’d be best just doing the opposite of anything you read on my blog… but if you want to ask me something email me chestyleroux32@gmail.com and I will be glad to dig something up!

    • Wow thanks so much!!! wow this is so nice i get what you mean about the getting yourself i just remember Jennifer Aniston said that after she turned 40 she has felt so much better about herself 🙂

    • also i think the fact you realized your mistakes mean you know the difference between right and wrong 🙂 consider the agony aunt thing!! i will feel free to use the above email 😀 and the things i read on your blog remind that life’s not black and white and that you can’t control everthing ant that sometimes u just have to laugh at life’s little twists and turns 🙂

Leave a Reply

